Reality Excursion Wallpapers To Be Released This Week

Reality Excursion Wallpapers is a series of 12 wonderful original paintings from Seattle artist, William Fahey. You can see more of his art at http://deathless-art.com   This application will be released for free on Monday, November 29th between 8 and 9pm, PST. Don’t miss it!!!!

Artist Statement of William Fahey

My work is an expression of my personal pursuit of meaning through mythology, world religion and the pre-history of humankind. There I have found rich symbols of psychological depth, a visual vocabulary of subjective, non-linear, poetic aspects of human experience. These are not relics, but a living language in which our psyches still speak in dreams and imagination. My concern is to show their continuing importance for our sense of wholeness and self. Further, I want to suggest that the “real” world is less objective than our current understandings would allow.

I delight in painting impossible things with an earth-bound naturalism. When I was a boy, I admired the realistic depictions of ancient times and cultures in National Geographic Magazine. Likewise, I greatly enjoyed science-fiction cover art. As a young man and artist, I was influenced by the imagery of the Symbolists and Surrealists. I see my style as a merging of these disparate threads.

Drawing is fundamental to my process. Since what I’m trying to paint usually doesn’t exist, I use photographic reference and do sketches and studies for various elements. Animals often appear in my images. They speak of the earth, spirit, power, our position in the natural world. They suggest the more-than-human and the less-than-human in our own natures. In this work, I’m trying to point to the unseen, to create a sense of newness and mystery, to hint at deep experiences and encourage their exploration.

About dreamtreemobile

Dreamtree Mobile is an iPhone and Android design agency based in Seattle, Washington.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

